Load data to Select2 via Ajax in Django

Hi, I am new to Web development. I have been reading through the documents and this thread
Problem with autocomplete with Django Rest API , but still I can’t have data loaded as options.

The doc said both ID and name are needed, but as there’s no ID in my datasource, I pass the name as ID as well.

def get_lvl0(request):
	lv0=levels0()
	lv0_list=[]
	for lv_0 in lv0:
		lv0_list.append({'id':lv_0,'name':lv_0})
	return JsonResponse({'results':lv0_list},safe=False)

And in my http://localhost:8000/get_lvl0, I have

{"results": [{"id": "WA", "name": "WA"}, {"id": "PA", "name": "PA"}, {"id": "TN", "name": "TN"}, {"id": "MD", "name": "MD"}, {"id": "IN", "name": "IN"}, {"id": "DE", "name": "DE"}, {"id": "IL", "name": "IL"}, {"id": "RI", "name": "RI"}, {"id": "VA", "name": "VA"}, {"id": "OK", "name": "OK"}]}

Unlike what’s in the linked thread, http://localhost:8000/get_lvl0?q=WA% does not change anything.

I use below in the client side, but no value loads an options.

<select class="testing" multiple="multiple" name="lv0_es" style="width:30%">
</select>
$(document).ready(function () {
    $('.testing').select2({
        ajax: {
        url: '/get_lvl0',
        dataType: "json",
        type: "GET",
        data: function (params) {
            var queryParameters = {
            q: params.name
        }
            return queryParameters; 
        },
        processResults: function (data) {
            return {
                results: data
            };
        }
},
  placeholder: 'Select a Lv0',
  minimumInputLength: 1
});
});

What am I missing here?

When you say “does not change anything”, what do you mean? If you put http://localhost:8000/get_lvl0?q=WA% directly in your browser’s address bar, what do you get?

It looks like you’re already returning the list of items as the value of the “results” property , which is the correct format, so you don’t need the processResults callback.