Not able to select multiple items on select2

Hi,

I am rather rather new to coding, specially web.
I came across Select2 a while ago and found it very interesting in what i had to do.
However, i encountered some difficulties.

I have a simple select2 in my code in form of a dropdownlist which is found in an updatepanel.
I have bound my dropdownlist to a database and i can select records as desired.

However, when the page loads and it retrieves data from the database, it needs to select at times several items from the dropdownlist at page load.

Here is what I have been able to do till now:

Default.aspx

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head runat="server">
        <title></title>

<link rel="stylesheet" href="https://cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/select2/4.0.3/css/select2.min.css" />

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.9.1/jquery.min.js"></script>
        <script type="text/javascript" src="https://cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/select2/4.0.3/js/select2.min.js"></script>

<script type="text/javascript">
            $(function () {
                Sys.WebForms.PageRequestManager.getInstance().add_pageLoaded(function(){
                    $(".js-example-tokenizer").select2({
                        tags: true,
                        tokenSeparators: [';'],
                        closeOnSelect: true,
                        placeholder: "Choose",
                        multiple: true,
                        autoClear: false
                    });

$("#ddl1").on("select2:select select2:unselect select2:change", function (e) {
                        //this returns all the selected item
                        var items = $(this).val();

//Gets the last selected item
                        var lastSelectedItem = e.params.data.id;

alert("Selected value is: " + items);
                    });
                });
            });
        </script>
    </head>

<body>